End of an era: One last ride

I am going to use this same write up on both Jeep sites using different pictures.

Today was a sad day. I ended my 24 year run with my military Jeeps at 7:45 this morning. The guy was supposed to be at the pickup location at 8am but he texted and said he was going to be there by 7:15 – I was on my way out the door to spend a few more minutes with the Jeeps to get them started up/warmed up and make sure everything was loaded. Instead I had to rush out, crank them up, warm them up , hook up the trailer and take off a mile up the road to meet the carrier.

I fired up the Army Jeep first – started and idled with no problem. I set the choke half way and 4 clicks on the throttle. Then I moved over to the USMC Jeep – same thing – fired right up. I set the choke and throttle. By that time, I moved back to the Army Jeep and adjusted the choke/throttle. Back to the USMC – I took the tag off of it and adjusted it. I looked around to make sure everything was in the trailer that was going with them – all of the canvas, doors, trailer canvas and spare parts box. I adjusted closed the choke/throttle on both of them and let them idle for a minute more – time to say goodbye while I was alone! I can only imagine it is like sending a child off for college because I know I will see them again at the Denton show or I can always go to visit the new owner if he doesn’t bring them to the show. But they aren’t mine anymore. I can’t go outside to tinker with them or go for a ride or cuss them because they wouldn’t start when I wanted to go for a ride, LOL. Good times! I have the memories and pictures.

Here’s the last ride up the driveway:

Leaving the driveway:

Heading down the road:

And loaded up on the transport trailer: So long 20962396!

Empty garage syndrome:

Not exactly empty, but now I have room to work on getting rid of stuff!

I got rid of the military Jeeps, but they are being replaced by a NEW(er) 2017 Jeep Wrangler JKU Big Bear. I have been wanting to buy a new Jeep since I got rid of my 1993 Wrangler YJ back in 1997. Now, with the funds freed up by selling my hobby, I was able to put a real nice down payment on one and still have money left to put toward paying my mortgage off and saving. I guess that helps a little with the empty garage syndrome thing.

4 responses to “End of an era: One last ride

  1. Man, that’s a sad sight to see’m loaded up and going away…..I’ve got fond memories of those military jeeps from Ft. Bragg in the 1950’s.I have a ’53 M38A1 about 98% restored, soon to hit the paint booth.We I need a hand with mine and you have a hankering, maybe you can advise or direct my intentions.I’m I  Orange County by the way…..Where were you located—I’d loved to had that trailer. Sent from Mail for Windows 10 From: Rebirth of an M38A1Sent: Tuesday, April 6, 2021 8:43 PMTo: donaldthomas1220@gmail.comSubject: [New post] End of an era: One last ride wilfreeman posted: " I am going to use this same write up on both Jeep sites using different pictures. Today was a sad day. I ended my 24 year run with my military Jeeps at 7:45 this morning. The guy was supposed to be at the pickup location at 8am but he texted and said"

    • Yeah it was Don! A lot of time, money, sweat and tears went into those Jeeps. But they were just sitting most of the time and about any time I wanted to drive them I would have to work on them. I think the new owner will take good care of them and actually drive them. I have known him from the Denton show for about 10yrs. He’s actually in YOUR area (sort of) – Fuquay-Varina. I can give a little advice on how I went about painting mine if you need it. I am located in Richburg SC – about 40 miles south of Charlotte on I77. I have another M100 that still needs a little metal work. I replaced the floor pan on it and the underside is finished and painted (needs to be finished rebuilding). I’ll be selling it, an m762 trailer (needs finishing) and the rest of my parts Jeep.

  2. Sure hate to see that, but a man’s got to do what a man’s got to do. Better go get you a vintage jeep vaccination so you don’t ever get bit by the bug again….am guessing it could be a lot more expensive next time around! Good luck to you Sir! I enjoyed your posts.

  3. Yeah, it was time – handing them over to another guy that has been trying to get one restored for the last 10 yrs but couldn’t seem to get the project off the ground. Hopefully he’ll drive them and enjoy them more than I did! He comes to the Denton show every year, so I know I’ll get to see the Jeeps again! I know what you mean – it would cost a LOT more to restore one that needed a lot of parts now. But I think I’m done “restoring”. I appreciate you following me over the years Ron – hopefully you got something out of the blogs.
    Matt

Leave a comment