Back to the gas tank and test in 4wd

    No water pump rebuild kit yet! I had a couple of hours to work with, so I went out and did a little work on the gas tank fitting. I took out the filler neck flange(?) and seat. I tried to figure out where the welt goes – did the best I could, but I still don’t think it’s in there right. The tank drain hole in the body wasn’t in the right place (SURPRISE!), so I had to lengthen the hole. I couldn’t get the plasma cutter to work right, so I got out the sawzall and the demo blade – that went pretty good. I took a rat tail file and cleaned it up.

I tried the fitment again – it fit OK for an MD Yuan repro, but still not close enough! I tried the tank strap and it was 1/2″ short (to reach across the tank), so I had to straighten and re-bend it. I put the welt under it and it came about 2″ from the florboard! I figured I could live with that, si I found a 2″ long bolt and bolted her down. The strap also ran straight across the sending unit flange, so I had to offset the strap mounting hole. It also runs straight over the top of the tab I welded on for the fuel line – I’ll have to remove it and weld another one on before I paint the tank.

After the tank was strapped down I tried the seat to see how it would fit. The hole in the door opening and on the wheelwell were perfect, the hole between the seats was about 3/8″ off, and the back mount (foot) was about 3/8″ off the floor (because the tank is taller than it should be and it holds the seat up). I decided to bend the leg between the seats and put a piece of welt under it, and put 2 pieces of welt under the rear foot. Everything seems to work well like that.

It still sounded like it was missing or skipping – just not running smooth. I pulled the plugs to check and clean then. All of them were sooty black, but not wet. I cleaned them best as I could and sanded the electrodes with emery cloth. I put them back in and check how she ran – a little smoother, but still not right. I’m not really going to worry much about it until I can get the water pump rebuilt so I can run her long enough to warm her up and adjust the carb and timing while warm. I’m still not ruling out a vacuum leak either, as I haven’t finished the vacuum and PCV tubing yet. Can’t finish that stuff until I buy a fuel pump.

I took it for a ride around the driveway and tested the 4wd and low range by climbing the hill to the parking area. I stopped at such an angle it was hard to get out of and back into. It pulled on up that hill better than the pickup does in 4wd.

image

Leave a comment